Patsy Collins Award

The Patsy Collins Award for Excellence in Education

Recognizing Extraordinary Teachers in Washington

Made possible thanks to funding from an anonymous donor at the Seattle Foundation, the annual Patsy Collins Award for Excellence in Education, Environment, and Community honors extraordinary teachers in Washington K-12 schools who extend learning beyond the classroom.


This award was established to honor Patsy Collins, a philanthropist and civic leader who cared deeply about education and stewarding our environment and natural resources for generations to come.


About the Patsy Collins Award

Three teachers are selected annually to receive the Patsy Collins Award, which includes a $10,000 cash prize in recognition of their commitment to creating learning experiences that make a difference for kids, their communities, and the planet. Teachers can be nominated or apply for the award and are selected by a committee of IslandWood educators. Applications for the 2019 award are now closed. Thank you to everyone who applied or submitted a nomination! Check back in October for an announcement of the award recipients!

Meet Our 2018 Awardees

Meet the 2018 recipients of The Patsy Collins Award for Excellence in Education, Environment, and Community: Laura Tyler, Jennie Warmouth, and Elizabeth Wing. These teachers were honored for their commitment and innovation in connecting classroom learning to their students’ environment and communities. Their teaching philosophies, projects, and partnerships attest to their belief in the capacity of students to make a difference and to the important role of field study and community engagement in education.


Read More →


Past Award Recipients

Please join us in recognizing these extraordinary teachers who are going above and beyond for kids, our communities, and the planet.